Falling Stars by Sadie Grubor

courtrev

 

   Discretion advised: This book may be unsuitable for anyone under the age of 18, due to mature themes, language and sexual content.

  Title: Falling Stars
  Author: Sadie Grubor
  Series: Falling Stars
Publication Date: Aug 2014
Publisher: Book Nerd Revelation
Age Group: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 402
Format: ebook
Source: Author supplied Review Copy
Find the Book: AmazonGoodreads


Christopher Mason, front man of the band The Forgotten. He’s hot, he’s famous and everything a famous rock star can be. But despite his fame and bad boy look, inside he battles demons. Demons so powerful they may destroy him. All hope seems lost. Slowly, his star is falling.
Mia Ryder, lead vocalist of the band Hushed Mentality, enters his life. Energetic, fun, and laid-back, Mia is just about everything Christopher isn’t. And he definitely doesn’t want her on his tour.

But one night changes everything. For the first time in his life, Christopher Mason becomes sure of one thing, and it’s the one thing he’s tried so hard to push away.


It took me a while to get into this one. And even once I was too hooked to put it down it took me forever to read it. Which, for me, is curious. I call myself the “Devourer of books,” but this one was more like the “nibbler of books” until I got through it. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it. I did! It’s just not a light and quick read if that’s what you’re looking for.

There were probably a hundred times that I wanted to throw my Kobo at the wall because of something one of the characters said or did. Especially Christopher. He pushed my limits. With any “arrogant asshole prick” type characters, there is just a point where no matter what they do for the rest of the story, they have become completely irredeemable to me. No matter what they do from that point, I don’t care, I hate them and wish they would die. And it pretty much ruins a story for me, because at that point, I have absolutely no vested interest in the outcome of that character’s story arc. Well, Christopher came excruciatingly close to that line. As in a small breeze could have pushed him over it. For most of the book, I hated him. Then, somewhere about two-thirds of the way through, the tables turned and it was Mia I couldn’t stand anymore. Mia gets stuck, like a broken record, saying “it’s my body, it’s my decision.” Well, okay, I’m not here to discuss the whole pro-life/pro-choice thing. But SHUT THE FUCK UP Mia! Yeah, you let everyone know. You made it known that you wanted to “consider all of your options,” but for real? Had that been said one more time, I really would have put the book down and completely quit reading it. I get it, she was scared and emotional. But I can’t stand whiny bitches in real life, much less in my books!

The flow of scenes from one P.O.V. to the next definitely could have been handled better and in the first half of the book, especially, there was a lot of repeated information between Mia’s and Christopher’s scenes. There were a few grammar issues and a sentence or two missing words here and there. I definitely noticed several formatting issues, though those may just have been because I was reading a “review copy.” I did have an issue with the epilogue– it felt clunky and didn’t really flow with the rest of the story.

I absolutely loved the story itself though! When I was younger, I totally wanted to be in a band. I never got my band, but I was able to be uniquely involved in the underground music scene. So a lot of the scenes describing backstage and after parties took me back to my experiences. Not to mention the whole “asshole with a tortured soul gets a girl pregnant and actually steps up to the plate” thing is so reminiscent of  my own life. Actually, maybe that’s why Christopher and Mia pissed me off so badly… they just hit way too close to home, they’re way too much like my hubby and I.

All in all, it’s a compelling story with a great author!

4star

*I received this book in exchange for my honest review.*
*This review can also be found on Courtney’s Book Blog*
Leave a Reply

