Man Candy: A Review

We’ve all had that MAJOR teenage crush … and the moment when the object of our affection does not return those affections. Usually we get over it, grow up, and move past those high school days. Unless, that very same high school crush comes back 10 years and lives in the same flat as you!


MHManCandyBookCover5x8_HIGH.jpgHe’s back.

Not just back in town, but living in the flat right beneath mine. And he looks good enough to eat, which is just one more reason to stay away from him.

But I can’t resist.

The sex is incredible (pretty sure we’ve shaken the house right off its foundation), but he can’t fool me—not this time. A degree in marketing and five years in advertising have taught me that “true love” is a fairy tale used to sell lipstick, diamonds, and perfume. It doesn’t exist.

He thinks I’m wrong, and he wants to prove it.

I think he’s crazy, so I dare him to try.

It might be the biggest mistake of my life.

TBR-Small


Jazmyne's Review

And I realized he was right–love isn’t a secret to be unlocked, or a mystery to be solved and marriage isn’t a mystical union of two souls whose fate is written in the stars…
It’s a feeling, followed by a choice made in the face of chaos and uncertainty…”

Jaime is a girl who had her heart shattered as a teenager–the boy she loved didn’t love her back. And he laughed at her attempt in seduction! When Quinn reappears in her life 10 years later, she still holds a grudge.

Quinn has been off in LA pursuing his modeling career and caring for his mother. When he returns to Detroit, Jaime is living upstairs. Wanting to get reacquainted, Quinn hopes that Jaime still harbors that crush. After an ill-placed challenge, Quinn is now faced with the task of convincing Jaime to believe in love.

Throughout the story, I laughed SO MUCH! The dialogue was hilarious. I don’t know how many times I had to explain why I was laughing out loud while reading my book.
(The reference to Flynn Ryder was perfection & my favorite!)

The struggle to find love in this story isn’t one of angsty twists and turns, scary enemies, or an underlying mystery–it was simply human insecurities. It was all those doubts and fears we store up in ourselves and use to defend our hearts from feeling pain. Although the love was right there, it couldn’t be accepted. I was so connected to this, as I’ve had several of the same feelings so often–feelings of doubt against myself.

This was a fantastic read all the way through. It’s the perfect book to sit at the beach with or laugh in your couch! It managed to be hilarious and heartwarming all at once.

4 star doodle


Available June 20!

Preorder Now

Get notified of release on Amazon.

Amazon-Small-1

Exclusive Preorder.

OrderiBooks-1.png


If you like books, come visit me!

Ramblings Logo

Leave a Reply

