Should you go into “The Light”?

It took me a while to fully commit to reading this story. I kept feeling like I was never in the mood for something like this, but that’s where I was wrong.

I hadn’t gotten very far into the story, and …

Wow.

But, let’s take a second and figure out what this story is about.


Into the Light.jpgAn investigator’s search for a friend draws her into a world darker than she could have imagined.

Sara Adams awakes blind, unable to remember the most basic details of her life, but her darkness seems a blessing when she discovers the terrors of The Light.

Stella Montgomery investigates the news on the mean streets of Detroit, where she’s noticed a disturbing trend: young women are vanishing. When her best friend disappears, Stella investigates—despite warnings from her police detective boyfriend—following a twisted trail that leads her through the city’s most dangerous and forsaken precincts. There she uncovers something more sinister than she could have imagined: a shadowy organization known as The Light, led by the enigmatic Father Gabriel.

As Sara struggles to understand her place in the strange world she’s awakened to—an oppressive cult demanding unquestioning obedience—and her feelings for Jacob, the husband she can’t recall and whose harsh and tender attentions confuse and beguile her, Stella risks all to discover the truth. But enlightenment always comes with a price…

TBR-Small


Jazmyne's ReviewRemember that WOW from earlier?

That’s really the entire review, right there. I don’t have any other words. This story was full of twists and turns and surprises!

As I began the story, I thought I knew what was happening. I. Did. Not. Know.

As the story opens we are introduced to two main characters: Sara & Stella.

  • Sara is recovering from an accident. She has lost her memory, her sight, and has retained multiple other physical injuries. This leaves Sara in a greatly diminished state, feeling alone in a world where she was supposed to feel at home. Her husband, Jacob, begins to help her figure things out, but there are just so many rules …
  • Stella, on the other hand, is an investigative journalist, pursuing multiple leads toward finding her best friend, Mindy. Living in Detroit, Stella has seen some things that would rattle even the strongest of stomachs. With a source in the morgue, a homicide detective as her boyfriend, and some great contacts, she seems to be headed into a great development.

There’s not too much I can say about the storyline itself without spoiling the story. Stella & Sara both play a pertinent role in understanding the goings on behind the group called “The Light.” All the characters in each of their stories holds a piece to the puzzle and a clue to what might be happening beyond what we, as readers, can see.

The puzzle that is this story intrigued me from the start. I began to see pieces fit together, and then all of a sudden, they didn’t! This story was cleverly written and engaging from beginning to end. The details included were fantastic, the plot twists integrated at seemingly perfect moments, and information withheld from the reader until the very point it proved needed.

I wish I could say so much more about this story, but I’m too afraid to give anything away! I feel like I’m not conveying well enough how great of a story this is, but it was one of the most intriguing mysteries I have read in a long while. If you love a good mystery & a little romance, you will ADORE this story. HIGHLY recommended!

5 Star Doodle.png


Purchase Links.jpg

Amazon-Small-1



For more information on the AUTHOR AND a sneak peek EXCERPT, visit my blog.

click


If you like books, come seeee me!

Ramblings Logo

Leave a Reply

