Review: “Complicate Me” by M. Robinson

“You look beautiful, Alex,” Lucas whispered from behind me, his voice broken and torn.

A Red Raven Reads Review of “Complicate Me” by M. Robinson

complicateme

www.redravenreads.wordpress.com // www.booksarefood.wordpress.com

THE STORY:

It’s complicated. SEE WHAT I DID THERE? …I’m so sorry. In all seriousness, it’s a pretty typical friends-to-lovers plotline (at least from what little I know about friends-to-lovers plotlines). Guy and girl grow up together and seem to be in love from the very beginning, but everything has to be difficult (I mean, it is a romance) so they don’t get together, and they may or may not at the end.

THE GOOD:

Robinson is known for being the “Queen of Angst,” and damn, did this book ever prove it. I felt like I was twelve with my first crush again. Horrid, horrid memories. Thanks M. But this book was so well written for a romance—especially an indie romance. It surprised the hell out of me. The entire time I was just like YOU GO GIRL! THIS IS HOW IT’S DONE! I was freaking elated and addicted throughout the entire book. It was super awesome, and I rarely enjoy contemporary “adult” romances, but I definitely enjoyed this one (minus the intense, sobby feels).

THE BAD:

I feel like this book was missing something. Maybe not the book, but the story? I just felt kind of empty at the end instead of the emotion I should’ve been feeling. I also struggled a lot with the constant repetition of phrases. It didn’t seem lazy per se, but it certainly didn’t feel creative. I was definitely thrown a bit.

THE CONSENSUS:

This is simply a great romance and would be an awesome introduction to the genre. I mean, it kind of was for me. I’m definitely more of a YA girl, but this was a great “out of my cozy lil’ box” experience. I truly enjoyed this book and would certainly consider reading more from the series. However, it does have some flaws that are hard to ignore.

THE RATING:

This gets a 4 out of 5 from me, dawg. (Randy out.)

Leave a Reply

