Review: “Angelfall” by Susan Ee

“Ironically, since the attacks, the sunsets have been glorious. Outside our condo window, the sky flames like a bruised mango in vivid orange, red, and purple. The clouds ignite with sunset colors, and I’m almost scared those of us caught below will catch on fire too.”

A Red Raven Reads Review of “Angelfall” by Susan Ee

angelfall

www.redravenreads.wordpress.com // www.booksarefood.wordpress.com

THE STORY:

Earth is a shell of what it once was; smartphones line the pavement, houses are raided nonchalantly, and people are being cannibalized for their nutrients. Why? The angels.

The angels took over civilization and left humanity in shambles. We meet protagonist Penryn as she tries to escape from a swarm of angels, only to have her little sister stolen. Penryn now must cooperate with the enemy, a darkly sexy former soldier angel named Raffe, if she ever wants to see her sister again.

THE GOOD:

This book is a dark, striking, beautifully accurate portrayal of humanity. For a simple “young adult” novel, it proves itself to be anything but. It sinks its claws in and refuses to let go until you’ve stepped off the ride. The writing is immensely powerful, the tension is palpable, the gore is grotesque, and this book is a FORCE ripe with worth and meaning. I’ve never loved a character the way I love Penryn. Her situation is “done before” but unique thanks to mind blowing character development and a fascinating family history.

THE BAD:

I tried so hard to find something bad to say about this. Really, I did. But I can’t. I love every bit of this book, every single intelligently-chosen word, every touching moment, every heart-stopping bit of action. All of it. I am undeniably, unequivocally in love with this book.

THE CONSENSUS:

I loved every moment of this book and could scarcely peel my hands from my kindle. I am not a series person and I find myself drooling over the idea of the next installment of the series. MORE SHIRTLESS RAFFE, PLEASE. (And the book boyfriend saga continues.) Further, I couldn’t find any personal or objective faults. This book, in my humble opinion, is a masterpiece. I truly think so.

THE RATING:

Romance. Intrigue. Gore. Love. Loss. One INCREDIBLE story I KNOW will be stuck in my head for months. And a very, very easy, 5 out of 5 star rating.

Leave a Reply

