Ball Peen Hammer: Book Review

BPH.jpgKeane Morgan wouldn’t return any of my calls or texts, and I was pissed as hell about it. I didn’t want to drive from Seattle to L.A. with the guy any more than he wanted to drive with me, but I had no frickin’ choice in the matter–at least, not if I wanted to use his brother Dax’s coveted parking spot at UCLA.

Okay, so it turned out Keane was objectively gorgeous, and, fine, pretty funny, too. But did he have to be so damned in love with himself? I mean, jeez, the cocky way he flashed those dimples was just so orchestrated. And, honestly, what kind of guy uses the phrase “baby doll” with a straight face? Oh, that’s right: the kind of guy who’s a male stripper.

Yup, the cocky jerk turned out to be Seattle’s answer to Magic Mike, a stripper known as “Ball Peen Hammer”–which meant Keane Morgan was emphatically not the kind of guy I’d ever fall for.

Not. At. All.

No freakin’ way.

Well, until Keane convinced me to fall for him, that is.

Which I did.

Hard.

TBR-Small

Release date: July 25
(I’ll be posting on Ramblings of a Bookworm that day, look out!)

Currently available in audio!
audible.png


Jazmyne Review

So, normally I don’t read a whole lot of RomComs. Don’t get me wrong, I watch a lot of RomCom movies and I love to laugh, but when I immerse myself into a fictional world I normally enjoy stories a little more rough around the edges. When I saw the blurb for Ball Peen Hammer, I thought to myself, “Hmm…I enjoyed Magic Mike, so this should be good.”

Guess what, y’all?

I. Was. Right.

We start our story by meeting Maddy & her sister Hannah as they converse on the phone. Let me tell you I was immediately laughing OUT LOUD. Like, fully belly laughing, wishing I was a part of their conversation. I was hooked. From the first stinking page. As far as the story would go, I was optimistic at this point, but … still had a few reservations.

Then I met Keane. My reservations were gone. He was absolute perfection. Was he a cocky, manwhore? Yes. But there was more to him. He had a personality that drew me to him-he was clever, funny, and kind of over the top. But all of that worked for him.

As I got into the story, Keane and Maddy were adorably oblivious to what was swirling around them. Their friendship was one of beauty, though. The way they bickered, shot insults at one another, mocked each other, but still found a way to support each other … brilliant. It’s, in a way, what I want in a relationship. You have that element of fun & friendship, but it reaches deeper to offer encouragement and support.  

My absolute favorite part of this story was watching Keane come into himself. His life hasn’t been perfect, although Ball Peen Hammer would lead you to believe life was fantastic. Keane had never truly explored the idea of “feelings,” but he had never really thought about himself too deeply outside BPH. I love watching characters grow & change, being able to feel as though I’m along for the ride and a part of their growth. Keane was a perfect example of this. His character was written so realistically.

  • Also, Keane’s family. Freaking amazing. His brothers, his mom, dad, the in-law family members, the “adopted” family members … this whole world of characters made me want to stay and never leave.

Honestly, lately, I’ve been in a book slump–to the point of almost not wanting to read (*gasp!*) But ever since I read the excerpt reveal, I’ve found myself thinking about this book, this story. It’s like the characters were in my head just enticing me to read it. And as soon as I picked up the book, it’s like I was already accepted into their world and we were all friends.

Not often do I rate a RomCom with 5 stars, but … I am today.

5 Star Doodle


Want to read the excerpt that got me HOOKED on Ball Peen Hammer?

Click HERE!

Rambling Signature

Leave a Reply

