Book Review: Amore

 “It is not love that defines us, Julietta. It is love that destroys us.”

I’m just a normal girl.

Or so you would think.
I’ve never thought of myself as anything different.
Until I met him.
He doesn’t think I’m normal.
He thinks I’m special.
Special enough to be in his life.
Special enough to enter his world.
Special enough for his bed.
Rafael Lencioni. Dangerous. Beautiful. Terrifying.
My story is the one that’s never told.
I’m not the daughter.
I’m not the wife.
I’m not a sister or a mother.
I’m not his enemy and I’m not his friend.
I’m not who you think I am.
So for me to fit into their world, I have to do something I never wanted in my life.
Something I would have frowned upon until I met him.
I have to change who I am.
I have to shut down my heart.
I have to accept my place.
My body belongs to him.
My heart isn’t permitted to.
Those are his rules.
But rules were made to be broken…right?

 TBR-Small.png


adobe-spark-3

 

“I stare into eyes. Rafael Lencioni’s soulless, perfect, brown eyes.”

This book was something new for me. I’ve never been a reader who enjoys reading about cheating in any form, and it has often been a situation which has caused me to put down a book. But the idea of delving into the world of the Mafia … I couldn’t resist. The perspective of this book was unique as well.

We meet Julietta, an everyday girl who works as a nurse, and goes out to have a good time. In going out she meets Rafael, a man who not only owns the club, but is an influential leader in the local mob organization. He offers Julietta a place in this world, his world, but at a price …

This story explores a side of romance which is often left out, the concept of a mistress. Most would look at this woman through eyes of judgment and dismiss her as simply being a whore. But, could there ever be more to it than that? This story explores the idea of a mistress, not in a secretive & degrading way, but as a necessary position in the order of a society. The mafia does not exist on the same rules as the “normal” world, and in order to secure respect in your position there are many tasks which you must complete. One of these, as a man, is to secure a mistress.

Throughout the story you are introduced to multiple complex characters. Although at times I found myself judging the characters for their choices/actions, in their situations, I’m not certain what I’d have done. Feelings swirl around under the surface of each character causing them to make choices, sacrifices, and even life changes they would normally NOT be making.

Overall the book had an interesting perspective. It brought to light the complexity of human interaction and well as the depth of emotion. The story introduces a tangled web of character decisions which began decades before we meet these characters. The stage was being set and now we must watch how these choices play out through the entire set of characters.

Leave a Reply

