Book Review: Honor

honor.jpgDon’t be fooled.

Don’t make excuses for me.

I am not a good man.

I’ve seen things no one should, done things no one should talk about. Honor and conscience have no place in my life. But I’ve fought and I’ve survived. I’ve had to.

The first time I saw her dancing on that seedy stage in that second rate club, I felt my heart pulse for the first time. Keelyn Foster was too young, too vibrant for this place, and I knew in an instant that I would make her mine. But first I had to climb my way to the top. I had to have something more to offer her.

I’m here now, money is no object and I have no equal. Except for her. She’s disappeared. But don’t worry, I will find her and claim her. She will be mine.

Like I said, don’t be fooled. I am not the devil in disguise… I’m the one front and center.

tbr-small


adobe-spark-3


Calmly and totally serious she told me, “You’re the opposite of a good man, Nassir, but that doesn’t mean you aren’t my man.” Her stormy eyes flashed at me. “You’re my man, and my devil … it depends on the day.”

This quote, for me, summed up my feelings about this book. Nassir was a man who came from a past most of us cannot imagine. He was faced with situations, choices, and experiences that, even in the greatest action movies of our time, could not be understood by those of us living (mostly) comfortable lives. His character was one of complexity and depth I hadn’t imagined it would be.

Within the first few pages of this book I knew that this was a story that would break into my heart. Nassir came from a mixture of cultures which created an inferno of hatred. Never quite committing to any one cause, Nassir became a force to be reckoned with. Everywhere he went He was the danger, the one who could not be beaten. Moving to the United States, Nassir created himself a new identity and set about carving out a new empire. Arriving in The Point, he knew that this was a place he could thrive. What he didn’t count on was a chance encounter at the local strip club.

Key has endured much in life and was living life the best she knew how. Stripping to make money was a job, but her skills at manipulation and seduction were her greatest assets. Meeting Nassir she feels the immediate attraction, but knows that he is so much more than simply another man. He has the power to tear her apart, physically and emotionally. When she finally makes her escape from The Point, Nassir cannot let that stand, and he attempts to convince her to return.

Throughout this whole story there was a level of emotion I wasn’t prepared for. Both of these characters have so much to them. I was always wondering what might happen next and how each event would affect the characters. The supporting characters added to the complexity of the story and the characters. There was such a difference in beliefs and actions between everyone involved in the story, that it added to create a confusion which mimics real life.

Overall this was an unexpected love for me. I knew the story would be awesome, but the level of real I experienced was unexpected. Preorder this book. Do it. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

