Book Review: Beneath These Shadows

jazmynes-review

“You down with that? You wanna get dirty in NOLA, cupcake?”

The only permanent thing in my life is the ink I put on my clients.

30249091.jpgI drift from city to city, in and out of beds, from one tattoo shop to the next.
Every time I start to put down roots, I rip them up.
Until New Orleans.
Until her.
She’s everything I’m not.
Full of fire and life. An innocent where I’m a sinner.
I want to consume her. Protect her. Keep her.
But first, I have to escape from beneath these shadows.

tbr-small


adobe-spark-3

[Book review originally featured on Ramblings of a Bookworm]

“You don’t need to thank me. Tonight is already the best night I’ve ever had. You make everything I’ve walked past a hundred times seem new again. It’s like seeing it through your eyes, and the world is a hell of a lot brighter that way. You make me happy, Eden.”

We again enter the world of NOLA, we are hit with the calming familiarity of Mardi Gras, Voodoo Ink, and all the overwhelming alpha you’ll need.

I met Bishop in Beneath These Chains and was intrigued. He didn’t get a ton of face time in the novel, but I always knew there was something there. For me, this book began an awful lot like the first novel in the series, and for me it was kind of like beginning again.

Eden is a girl who has spent much of her life being managed. She’s told how to make all of the decisions that affect her. Not only is it to protect her, but it’s also to keep her in line. When given the opportunity to step out on her own, she is finally allowed to  live. Her choice? New Orleans.

Literally falling into Bishop, he knows from the moment he sees her that she’s different. Bishop is a man who, for his own personal reasons, holds himself just a little apart from most people. He has great friends, trusts them with everything, but outside of that group he does NOT get attached. In spite of all that, he still makes the time to help Eden, but in helping Eden … he has now brought her right into the Beneath circle.

This is one of my favorite types of stories. Bishop is a man who has every reason to keep to himself. He is strong, protective, caring, but it is hidden so deeply that only his few friends can see it. When he begins to help Eden, she doesn’t feel like anything but a burden. And as he continues to help her, she again feels as though she’s being controlled. It all happens in an instant — one seemingly meaningless moment where everything changes. And after that moment everything just seems to make sense. “You’re not an interruption, cupcake. You’re a breath of fucking fresh air. Go on up, I’ll be done soon.

I LOVED this addition to the Beneath family. Now, that’s not to say I haven’t truly enjoyed all the other stories, but this brought me back to my initial love. The love that first drew me in to all that is Meghan March.

If you’ve taken a break from the Beneath series, I encourage you to dive back in. If you haven’t, tried any of the series, they are all standalones, but it’s nice to start at the beginning to get to know everyone.


 

adobe-spark-1

Beneath Series (Books #1-#5) | Beneath These Shadows | Meghan March Amazon Page

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Beneath These Shadows

Leave a Reply

