Book Review by Jazmyne: Road to Nowhere

jazmynes-review

If you have already preordered, or had any trouble purchasing with Amazon, please read this important ANNOUNCEMENT

I once read that every warrior hoped an honorable death
would find him. I always went looking for mine, but not even the Reaper wanted me.
I was trained to kill. I was trained to not ask why. To take orders and just march in line. Hooah motherfucker.
Life or death.
Ride or die.
And I’m not only talking about the military. I’m talking about the life that led me on the road to nowhere.
My life.
I fought for my brothers.
I fought for my family.
I fought for my country.
And I fought for her…

Never realizing I might die for them too.



adobe-spark-3

[Book review originally featured on Ramblings of a Bookworm]

“I don’t have a lot of friends, Creed. I don’t like to waste my time on people if I don’t think they’re worth it.”

The world of the Good Ol’ Boys is one I’ve loved living in since the day I stepped into it. Coming back to this world, through a different angle, it was extremely interesting to see the changes and growth in the town and characters.

Reading Creed’s story, it’s difficult to share all of what I was feeling without giving too much of his story away. His youth held tragedy. As he grew, tragedy was never far away. With each choice he made, it seemed he was led to a greater, more intense heartache. One of my favorite, albeit horrific, moments was a rendition of an actual event occurring in our nation’s history. This made the story seem so much more realistic, and the character’s reactions brought the story to life for me.

Mia is everything I hoped she’d be as a child of one of the Good Ol’ Boys. She is a HANDFUL! It’s great to see her giving all the grown men a run for their money. I also admired her candor. She was honest, and wise beyond her years. Each time she encountered Creed, she was never afraid to say what was on her mind. She also shared what was in her heart, giving Creed some much needed genuine feeling he was lacking.

Overall, this was one of my favorite stories. There were a few things missing for me, though. I  felt the story was a little rushed. That’s not to say that there weren’t many of the quintessential elements that make M.’s writing, but for me the story didn’t evolve the way previous works have. The tragedies were there, but it was like the angst that normally builds … just wasn’t there. The characters were great, the story line was there, but for me something was missing. It was an unforgettable addition to the works of M. Robinson, and it should definitely be read.


adobe-spark-1

Leave a Reply

