Book Review: Being Brooke

 

jazmynes-review

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00027]My name is Brooke Barker…

And I’m a freaking disaster.

No, seriously. I’m a college drop-out working a dead-end job, my best friend Carly’s dog gets more action than I do, and I have more bad dates in my diary than there are movie remakes.

Not to mention I’m completely and utterly in love with Cain Elliott.

The problem? He’s in a relationship. With a girl who’s so plastic she makes Barbie cry herself to sleep with jealousy.

The second problem? He’s my best friend.

My shut-up-and-put-harry-potter, yes-this-is-your-shirt, help-I-have-no-power, crap-I’m-out-of-tampon, kinda best friend.

And that’s all he can be, right?

Right.

tbr-small


adobe-spark-3

[Book review originally featured on Ramblings of a Bookworm]

 I’m twenty-four, it’s a Friday night, and I’m waiting for take-out gyros and fries in my onesie. My life is just so exciting I can barely stand it.

From the first page of this book, I was laughing. By the middle of the first chapter, I was laughing OUT LOUD! Brooke is a character that definitely doesn’t have it all together. She’s clumsy, awkward, not dedicated to any career path, and has only just moved out (upon threats from her mother). The thing is, none of these traits takes away from her character. She’s loyal, funny, and absolutely someone I’d want as a best friend.

There were a lot of things I really liked about this story. The first was the friendship between Brooke, Cain, and Carly. Even though we know from the very first moment that Brooke has loved Cain forever, she still puts their friendship first, as does the rest of the trio. “…Unless I’m marrying someone, I’ll always care about your more. Nobody gets to talk stuff about you to me unless it’s Carly, and that’s only because I know she’s already said it to your face.”  I also loved that nothing was simple. Transitions were awkward, secrets were kept, and balances were thrown off. This was one of the most realistic “I’m in love with my best friend” type of stories. And, some people are gonna hate me for this, I loved that sex didn’t rule the relationship in the story. Now don’t massacre me here, I love a sexy story, but here the focus wasn’t on just that. Yeah, all the elements were there, and YES they were obviously attracted to one another, but this book was more.

The thing I didn’t like was some of Brooke’s attributes. Let me explain better. I LOVED Brooke. My issue here wasn’t in her being her, but rather a disconnect for me. I’m clumsy, not super handy around the house, and super independent. In Brooke, sometimes her negative, or eccentric, attributes came off a little … exaggerated for me. I get needing help for multiple tasks in life, but it just seemed like there was so much she couldn’t do. That being said, I still truly enjoyed her.

This is a story I enjoyed much more than I anticipated. It made me laugh out loud, it made me swoon, and it even made me tear up a little there towards the end (no, I’m not telling). Lovers of laughs and romance will thoroughly enjoy this one!


Adobe Spark (1).jpg

Leave a Reply

