Book Review: Jaded Hearts

jazmynes-review

jadedhearts_frontcover_loresSigning with Brighthouse Records was supposed to be everything we ever wanted—our better life. Our chance at everything we never had but always wanted. All our dreams would finally come true and we were on top of the world. It was our chance at the happiness we never had in life.

Our every desire was at our fingertips and the power of that feeling was all consuming. But then it took every dream we thought would come true and it slapped us in the face with the cold hard reality.

Dreams were just that…something that floated on the cusp of untouchable, taunting you with every graze of your fingertips before slipping even further away.

Happiness…that feeling is a joke.

In the end it became painfully obvious that each of us would always have each other, but we would forever be alone.

tbr-small


adobe-spark-3

[Book review originally featured on Ramblings of a Bookworm]

From the first page of this book, I was instantly connected to Wrenlee. Her voice just pulled me into her story and I was totally invested. Wren is the face of Loaded Replay, an imminently successful musical group (which you might remember from Unexpected Fate). From the very start, we see her battling herself not only to find the happiness which she had previously found in her musical ventures, but we are introduced to her vulnerability concerning the people in her life. She has felt used by so many people, that she doesn’t believe that anyone outside her tight-knit group of friends wants HER.

I should feel bad for Prince Charming. My knight in tarnished armor. Because he’ll have one giant battle on his hands to make me believe that someone might be left out there who doesn’t just want a piece of me.

Enter Chance. Brought in to lead a security team to protect the band, he immediately realizes this job is going to be harder than he imagined. “For the first time in almost ten years, I was about to set myself up to give someone else the power over me.  And I would be powerless to stop it.” He had seen Wren perform at a show and was drawn to her. I mean, who isn’t drawn to Wren – she’s beautiful AND crazy talented with her voice – but this was more. Normally, I don’t get too sucked into any stories that have super instant “connections,” but this seemed so real to me. These two characters, both fighting their own battles, recognize something in each other.

The beauty of this story, for me, is not simply in the blossoming of love, but for the rebuilding of two souls. Chance and Wren are both people who have hearts that deserve love, for all the love they give to their friends. Each of them had been used, lied to, or cheated on. Each of these incidents took a piece of their soul, rendering them to existing, rather than truly living. For Wren, she has lost faith in people and lost sight of the beauty in her music. Chance lives so far distant from people, that he only keeps one truly close friend. To see these two come to peace with their pasts, repair their hurt, and forge a brand new future … that was a thing of pure beauty.

We’re going to destroy each other and then put the pieces back together, so there aren’t any more cracks.” Her words, confusing to many, show me just how well Wrenlee has pegged me.

As for the rest of the band, and their close friends, SO MUCH LOVE. Each of these characters has a distinct personality and brought something unique to the story. Characters make the story for me, and I absolutely wanted to jump into this story and be a part of this family of friends. I wish I could’ve let you into my head as I was reading, so you could experience all the feels I had while going through this story (I have way too many highlighted quotes). Wren is probably one of the top ten female characters, for me, that I’ve read.

If you don’t read this story, you’re missing out.

It’s not about love.
It’s not about the rock-n-roller lifestyle.
It’s about finding what makes your life whole and putting back together what has been broken.


adobe-spark-1

Leave a Reply

