Book Review: Swing

jazmynes-review

 

 Screw him and his perfect stats.

Sinful smirk.
Delicious body.

Lincoln Landry probably even has game-winning stamina.I’d like to screw her and her perfect ass.

Dangerous curves.
Sweet smile.

Danielle Ashley probably even has a game-changing personality.

There’s no denying the chemistry between them. It’s so fiery, it’s undeniable. They partake in it. Enjoy it.

They really enjoy it.
Attraction is not a problem. Nor is their banter, relationship status, or habits. That’s all fine. Perfect, actually.

The problem is as tangled up as their sheets.

tbr-small

adobe-spark-3

[Book review originally featured on Ramblings of a Bookworm]

I woke up happier than I did when I was drafted. I feel like the bat is in my hands now–not the Arrows’ or my father’s or in limbo. I have it. And it feels good to SWING.

Lincoln Landry is the hot-shot of Landry family. Gorgeous, talented, and a successful baseball player, he doesn’t often have to work for attention from … well, anyone. When he meets Danielle, he realizes the value that can come from working for something different.

There were a lot of great things about this story. I loved Linc. He is a man that has many layers and it’s difficult to see exactly how deep he goes. Throughout his story, he proves to us that he can be more than the arrogant baseball hero (which he absolutely can be). He is a man, a man with flaws and insecurities. He definitely grows and changes as he moves through this difficult and different section of his life. I loved to see him evolve as a person and adapt his thinking to accept all that life was throwing at him. He is a strong character that represents well dealing with the challenges of life.

As always, the rest of the Landry family makes an appearance. Huxley is still, by far, my favorite. And no different from his appearance in Sway, he offers brilliant insight into what’s happening with Linc. Also, Linc’s father, who can sometimes seem biased between sons, gave some fantastic advice that I think ALL of us should take to heart. “Regardless of what happens in your career, you’re going to be fine. There are seasons of our lives. Look at me, I was a businessman. Then a politician. The a businessman. This is the perfect advice to offer Linc as he faces some major decisions in his future. Also, Graham continues to intrigue me ….

Danielle is a character that I liked, but I really wanted to like more. At the beginning of the story she had some very valid reasons for wanting to avoid becoming serious about a man such as Lincoln. And although she did keep him at bay, it felt more like flirting than actually being serious about holding him at length. I totally get the concept that in finding “the one,” you HAVE to do something about it, but I was hoping for just a bit more hold off on her part. That being said, I still really liked her as a person, in general. Her values, attitude, clever banter, and class were all things that I enjoy seeing in a female character. She seemed a good fit into the Landry world.

This story is a good transition from Sway. I loved getting to know Lincoln and being allowed further access into the Landry family. This is still one of my favorite places to be and I daily long for the kind of happiness, love, and belonging that can always be found amongst the Landrys.

For a giveaway, excerpt reveal, and more … click the banner below.

RB Banner.jpg


adobe-spark-1

Leave a Reply

